Meet The 2023 RISE Recipients


The RISE Award recognizes a person whose early accomplishments, within their career and TASBO, distinguish them as future leaders in the profession.

TASBO awarded ten members with its RISE Award, which celebrates TASBO members who distinguished themselves early in their tenure with TASBO. The award program is sponsored by Texas Association of School Boards (TASB).

"These individuals represent the up-and-coming leaders of the profession," said 2023-24 TASBO Board President Shay Adams from Little Elm ISD. "Whether it's serving as an officer in an affiliate or volunteering as a co-instructor we are grateful for members stepping up and taking those first steps in their leadership journey."

This is the 4th year of the awards program, eligible to TASBO members with 10 or less years as a member. The goal of this new award is to bring to light those individuals who are on the rise in the school business community. This year’s class includes:

Keri Croy, RTSBA | Prosper ISD
Todd Garrison, CTSBS | Lancaster ISD
Carla Martin, RTSBA | Arlington ISD
Brandon Reyes, CTSBO | Ector County ISD
Kristi Russell, CTSBO | Mansfield ISD
Carla Settle, RTSBA | Cedar Hill ISD
Sarah Simpson, RTSBA | Denton ISD
Holly Stambaugh, RTSBA | Arlington ISD
Daniel West, RTSBA | Amarillo ISD
Jesse Wyse, RTSBA | Little Elm ISD

“Many of our RISE Award Recipients were participants of the Emerging Leaders Program,” said TASBO Executive Director Tracy Ginsburg. “We are now accepting applications for the 2023 Emerging Leaders cohort."

Watch the awards ceremony below to learn more about each recipient:

Back to top