With a rich tradition of collaboration, TASBO members use research and standing committees to discuss hot topics, build lifelong professional connections, find solutions to common problems, and help guide the association. There are 13 research committees divided by subject-matter, and three standing committees. Standing committee members are approved by the board of directors.

Research Committees

Any TASBO member can join any or all of the 13 research committees. Committees normally meet twice per year in-person, and as needed. Participation is encouraged, but not required to maintain committee membership. Additionally, some committees have online discussion groups in TASBO Connect. Your selection(s) should be based on interest, experience, or expertise in the Committee's identified specialty area. Each committee chair is appointed by the board of directors.

Research CommitteesChair

Accounting & Finance

Derick Sibley, RTSBA | Pleasant Grove ISD

Distribution & Inventory

Chad P. Doucet, RTSBA | Jubilee Academic Center

Information Technology

Frankie Jackson, RTSBA | Independent K-12 CTO

Instructional Materials

John Bridges, III | Fort Bend ISD

Internal Audit

Jennifer Isensee, CIA, CFE, CCSA | Plano ISD

Maintenance & Operations

Mike Brooks, RTSBA | Salado ISD


Denise Miller, RTSBA | Mansfield ISD


Karen Holyfield, CTSBS | Gilmer ISD


Holly Stambaugh, RTSBA | Joshua ISD

Purchasing & Supply Management

Jamie Spiegel, RTSBA | Leander ISD

Safety, Security & Risk Management

Paul Batchelder, RTSBA | New Caney ISD

School Nutrition

Victoria Ybarra | Red Oak ISD


Terry Penn, RTSBA | Rockwall ISD

Standing Committees

The Professional Certification Committee, Accounting & Auditing Advisory Committee, and Governmental Relations Committee are standing committees that serve as advisory groups to the TASBO Board of Directors. Standing committee members are appointed by the President with approval of the Board.

Standing CommitteesChair

Accounting & Auditing Advisory

David Marx | Texas Education Agency | 512.463.2945

Governmental Relations

Darrell Dodds, RTSBA | Midland ISD | 432.240.1018

Professional Certification

Raquel Basurto, RTSBA | Round Rock ISD | 512.464.5107

Join rebrand

Join TASBO’s legacy of supporting Texas schools.

Join our community and watch your career flourish.

Back to top