32 Districts Earn Award of Excellence in Financial Management

AOE 24 1

TASBO has announced the 2024 winners of the Award of Excellence in Financial Management. The awards program is sponsored by Frontline Education.

We are proud to recognize educational organizations across the state who have earned the prestigious Award of Excellence in Financial Management. Established in 2020, the award is given to Texas school districts, open-enrollment charter schools, and education services centers that demonstrate professional standards, best practices, and innovations in the area of financial management and reporting. This year, 32 recipients qualified for the award, sponsored by Frontline Education. Trophies will be presented at an awards reception in Houston on February 21 during the TASBO annual conference.

The criteria to qualify for the Award of Excellence in Financial Management is stringent, based on financial accounting and reporting guidelines identified by the Texas Education Agency (TEA) Financial Accountability System Resource Guide (FASRG). Applicants must submit documents across 11 key areas, which are reviewed by a TASBO accounting subcommittee.

“These organizations have gone through the rigorous process of meticulously documenting their districts’ policies and procedures,” said Tracy Ginsburg, TASBO Executive Director. “Not only have they showcased the ways they monitor spending, improve budgeting, implement controls, and enhance financial reporting, but they have shared their best practices with colleagues throughout Texas, helping even more educational organizations to better utilize taxpayer dollars.”

The 2024 recipients are:

Birdville ISD
Boerne ISD
Canutillo ISD
Castleberry ISD
Compass Rose Public Schools
Conroe ISD
Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
El Paso ISD
Frisco ISD
Garland ISD
Georgetown ISD
Gregory-Portland ISD
Harmony Public Schools
Harris County Department of Education
Katy ISD
Lake Worth ISD
Lexington ISD
Little Elm ISD
Mansfield ISD
McKinney ISD
Mesquite ISD
Midlothian ISD
New Caney ISD
Pasadena ISD
Pflugerville ISD
Ponder ISD
Prosper ISD
Red Oak ISD
Royse City ISD
Socorro ISD
Spring ISD
Weatherford ISD

About the Criteria

A TASBO Accounting & Finance Subcommittee developed the criteria for the award based on state and federal guidelines. Each applicant must submit documentation on 11 areas:

  • finance department essentials
  • staffing & training
  • controls
  • budget management
  • processes
  • cash management
  • communications
  • financial reports
  • financial analyses and projections
  • external staff training
  • innovation (bonus points)

We expect to open up applications in May at tasbo.org/award-of-excellence

Back to top