2022 TASBO Engage Conference Recap: Because of You

2022 Engage

Looking back at the 2022 TASBO Engage Conference in Grapevine. We'll see you next year in San Antonio, February 14-17, 2023!

Nearly 3,000 attendees traveled to the Gaylord Texan Convention Center for the 2022 TASBO Engage Conference. The enthusiasm for in-person learning and networking exceeded expectations, and we were able to celebrate a belated 75th-anniversary celebration (aka 75+1).

"It’s important to remember that we have each other and we have TASBO. And we have the TASBO Engage Conference," said TASBO Executive Director Tracy Ginsburg. "While last year’s Virtual Conference turned out to be very successful – especially in delivering a massive amount of educational content – one major limitation to virtual learning is that it is no substitute for the in-person experience."

Here's a recap of one exciting week (scroll all the way down for videos):

Monday & Tuesday

We offered more than 80 professional certification courses to thousands of registrants over two days (and 15 more courses on Friday). Special thanks to the instructors, volunteers, and staff who helped make this possible. We then opened the TASBO Expo Tuesday afternoon for the Sneak Preview Party. Be sure to thank all of the sponsors and exhibitors (click and scroll down), who made this a great experience. It was good to see everyone again!


We opened the conference with a big thank you to members, in appreciation for all of the hard work and dedication over the past two years (since we last met). During the Opening General Session, we encouraged attendees to share the Because of You video with colleagues. The session closed with inspirational keynote speaker Scott Burrows, who shared his story of succeeding in life despite a catastrophic accident that left him diagnosed as a quadriplegic.

In addition to the Early Bird breakout sessions, we offered more than 150 learning sessions over 8 different breakout periods during Wednesday and Thursday. In addition, we offered sessions in the Engagement Classroom located in TASBO Expo. Attendees also enjoyed lunch at TASBO Expo and met with exhibitors up until the Closing Reception at 4:30 PM.

That evening, we enjoyed a new event - an Evening General Session - with dinner provided. Game expert Deedre Daniel entertained guests before we honored our Award of Merit and Award of Excellence Recipients.


At the Awards Luncheon & Closing General Session, we honored our RISE Recipients, Commitment to Excellence Recipient, and the Champion of Education. We also announced newly elected board members. Professional photographer Steve Uzzell provided a look at how open roads open minds. Below is the list of those honored:

>RISE Recipients

Claudia Alba, RTSBA | Pflugerville ISD
Amanda Boles, RTSBA | Cypress-Fairbanks ISD
Ismael Gonzalez III, Ed.D., RTSBA | Gregory-Portland ISD
Kala Moore, RTSBA | Jacksonville ISD
Kyle Penn, Ed.D., RTSBA | Prosper ISD
Gisselle Rivera-Franco, RTSBA | Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD
Lela Vela, RTSBA | Frenship ISD

>2022 TASBO Commitment to Excellence Recipient

Jonathan Bey, RTSBA, RSBS | Life Member (retired from Fort Worth ISD)

>Champion of Education

Omar Garcia | BOK Financial Securities

>Board Election (Meet the 2022-23 Board of Directors)

Vice President

Jennifer DuPlessis, Ph.D., MBA, RTSBA | Lovejoy ISD

Byron Bryant, RTSBA, CPA | Royse City ISD
Jeremy Trimble, CTSBO | Eanes ISD
Lori Vechione, RTSBA | Keller ISD

>Outstanding Volunteer Recognized later that evening at Leadership Dinner

David Garcia, RTSBA | Life Member

Back to top