2024 TASBO Engage Conference Recap


Looking back at the 2024 TASBO Engage Conference in Houston. We'll see you next year in Austin, February 24-28, 2025!

More than 3,000 attendees traveled to Houston for the 2024 TASBO Engage Conference in February. The conference included three days of courses and two days of exhibiting and breakout learning sessions.

"It's great to be here again in Houston," said TASBO Executive Director Tracy Ginsburg. "This conference is a time when so many of us come together from around the state."

Here's a recap of one exciting week (scroll all the way down for videos):

Monday & Tuesday

We offered almost 100 professional certification courses to thousands of registrants over two days (and 26 more courses on Friday). Special thanks to the instructors,

volunteers, and staff who helped make this possible. We then opened the TASBO Expo Tuesday afternoon for the Sneak Preview Party. Be sure to thank all of the sponsors and exhibitors (click and scroll down), who made this a great experience. Tuesday in the TASBO Expo lounge we offered custom TASBO t-shirts.


We opened the conference officially with TASBO Spirit Day, which honors school finance and operations professionals in Texas public education. During the Opening General Session, we showcased our new TASBO brand. The session closed with inspirational keynote speaker Courtney Clark, who shared her story to enlighten attendees on ways to adapt to change.

We offered more than 150 learning sessions during Wednesday and Thursday. In addition, we offered sessions in the Engagement Classroom located in TASBO Expo. Attendees also enjoyed lunch at TASBO Expo and met with exhibitors.

That evening we honored Award of Merit and Award of Excellence teams in a reception at the Hilton Americas. Then we hosted a Celebration Dinner back in the Convention Center.


At the Awards Luncheon & Closing General Session, we honored our RISE Recipients and highlighted Leaders - Shay Adams, Darrell Dodds, Jennifer Land, and Michele Trongaard. We debuted our new Profiles in Leadership video series (see video below). And, finally, President Shay Adams presented our very first President's Award to the teacher who inspired her to pursue a career in accounting - Nan Walker.

The closing speaker, Kenyon Salo, a member of the Denver Bronco skydiving team, introduced the "Bucket List Life" and interacted with attendees in a high-energy presentation.

It was a memorable conference to be sure. Below are some additional highlights:

>RISE Recipients

Amanda Ray RTSBA, Chief Financial Officer | Blue Ridge ISD
Amber Lasseigne RTSBA, Executive Director of Finance | Lewisville ISD
Brandy Mayo RTSBA, Chief Financial Officer | Venus ISD
Cayla Mars RTSBA, Director of Finance | Ore City ISD
Jennifer Hinds RTSBA, Director of Fiscal Services | Abilene ISD
Kelechi Bradley, Director of Research Assessment and Data | Sheldon ISD
Kelsey Ramos RTSBA, Assistant Superintendent of Finance & Operations | Calallen ISD
Kenneth Cloud CTSBO, PEIMS Coordinator | Tomball ISD
Kimberly Smith CPA, Chief Finance & Strategy Officer | Frisco ISD
Kyle Johnson, Assistant Superintendent Finance/Operations | Westwood ISD
Lance Rainey RTSBA, Chief Financial Officer | Brock ISD
Michael Smith RTSBA, Chief Operations Officer | West Hardin County CISD
Shannon Allen CTSBO, Purchasing Supervisor | Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD

>Board Election Results (Meet the 2024-25 Board of Directors)

Vice President
Phillip Ellison, RTSBA, MBA, CPSM | Spring ISD

Candace Fuchs, RTSBA | Joshua ISD
Jeffri Orosco, RTSBA | Elgin ISD
Johnny Hill, RTSBA, CPA | Plano ISD

Back to top